Attention: Please click here for the Archbishop's guidelines for observing social distancing for the Celebrationn of Mass
Click here to watch live mass or click here to view other mass times and directions.
Saint MAry Magdalen Catholic Church
  • Homepage
  • Sacraments
  • Faith Formation
  • Family Faith Formation
  • S.H.O.P.
  • Office of Child & Youth Protection
  • Bulletin
  • Contact
  • Giving Back
  • Holy Orders

    What is Holy Orders?

    Holy Orders in the Catholic Church include three orders: bishop, priest, and deacon. The Church regards ordination as a Sacrament. In the phrase “Holy Orders”, the word “holy” simply means “set apart for some purpose.” The word order (order, in Latin) designates an established civil body or corporation with a hierarchy, and ordination means legal incorporation into an order.

    In context, therefore, a Holy Order is simply a group with a hierarchical structure that is set apart for ministry in the Church.

    Find Out More

    Upcoming Events

    We will post updates on events as they become available.